21
Search
Cart
Email List

Tours

Ever wondered how the spectacular costumes are designed, how simple plywood can be fashioned to look like fine drawing room paneling, or how sets can be built to look like impenetrable stone castles? Perhaps you’ve pondered what goes into creating the simulated food, grand statues, whimsical puppetry, or elaborate headgear seen onstage.

Whatever your area of interest, the Globe’s experienced, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic docents are sure to entertain you with interesting tidbits and fascinating stories as they guide you through the backstage areas and craft shops of our three theatres. You’ll also learn of the Globe’s rich history and a little something about each of the current plays running, whether it’s a well-loved classic, a contemporary Tony Award-winning play, or an exciting new musical.

Tours are open to children in grade 3 or above and to adults of all ages.

Behind the Scenes Tours are available on select dates at 10:30 a.m. We recommend that you contact us ahead of time to be sure we’re offering tours on the day of your visit. Please send us the date you would like to attend (see dates available in the block on the right) and number of children, adults, and seniors.

Private Tours (for groups, schools, clubs, etc.) are by reservation only. These tours are typically scheduled on Saturdays or Sundays at 10:30 a.m, though other days and times may be available.

Tour length: 90 minutes.

Tour cost: $5 for adults, $3 for students and senior citizens. One complimentary adult admission for every 10 students (up to three free adults).

Please allow 3 weeks notice to book a tour.

For more information, or to book a private tour, please email us at GlobeLearning@TheOldGlobe.org.

Please note: The Globe’s year-round technical, rehearsal, and performance schedules may preclude visiting certain theatre areas on any given tour.

Behind the Scenes Tours

All tours begin at 10:30 a.m.


Monday, July 16
Monday, July 30
Wednesday, August 1
Thursday, August 2
Friday, August 3
Monday, August 6
Saturday, August 18
Monday, August 20
Tuesday, August 21
Saturday, August 25
Sunday, August 26
Monday, August 27
Saturday, September 8
Sunday, September 9
Monday, September 10
Saturday, September 15
Sunday, September 16
Monday, September 17
Sunday, September 23
Monday, September 24
Saturday, September 29
Sunday, September 30

Email for More Information